See you later!

“How lucky am I to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard”

– A.A. Milne, Winnie the Pooh

We promise not to be too sentimental, but we wanted to write everyone that has followed our blog and supported us a couple quick messages!

Since we both graduated this past May and have come to the sudden (and shocking) realisation that we are no longer college students, we are leaving The College Catalogue in the hands of our third co-founder, Maggie Zhang. We know she’ll do great things with the blog, and hope you’ll stay tuned!! That said, as two proud mamas of this little blog baby, we’re not disappearing, just leaving the “diaper duty” to Maggie while we work on a little something new of our own 🙂

*ps. the photos on the left are our silly college freshman selves, and the ones on the right are from senior year. Spot the similarities – we clearly haven’t changed as much as we’d like to think!

Ncomposite

First of all, I would like to address how Dani picked a photo of me from freshman year in a ridiculous outfit of black tights and long black sleeves (ugh) while she looks perfect at Paris Fashion Week. I kid, I kid. Dani has a great visual eye. Writing this post has been a little difficult for me because I’m secretly a micromanaging control freak sometimes (I’m sure Dani will gladly tell you about how I reacted when I thought we destroyed the coding on our site).  This blog has been like my baby for the last year, and though it’s hard to let it go, I have no doubt that the blog will be taken in the right direction in the hands of  Vassar undergraduates! I think the beauty of this whole thing is that we have gotten to meet and work with so many people from all over the world. From our friends at Raretruths in Japan, to our Vassar classmates, to people we knew when we were kids in Singapore or Hong Kong, all the connections really show that the world is a small place.  I encourage everyone to chase their passions because you can really learn a lot from something you call a “hobby” and you never know what opportunities lie ahead. Thank you, thank you, thank you to everyone who worked with us and all of our readers!

And to Maggie, I’m so glad that we all got to work on this project together and it made us closer. You are now the creative director of the blog and we are your consultants whenever you need us for anything and I mean anything. I know you are going to do great things. I cannot wait for everything that is in store for you and I hope to see you in Hong Kong in 2014!

– Nicole

Dcomposite

This is my dirty little fashion blog secret: I don’t read many fashion blogs, I only look at fashion magazines when they happen to be in front of me, and I don’t really keep up with the latest trends. When I decide I like something, I stick with it and that is why half of the clothes in my closet are either peach-colored, lace, a dress, or all of the above. It took me three years to look at winter wear without automatically picturing Violet Beauregarde as a blueberry (from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory). In fact, it took me a while to figure out how I even came to be part of this project.

Credit for the idea behind the blog actually goes to Maggie and Nicole, and I think I became involved because, well, I lived in the same house as my dear friend Nicole and I have a “big” camera, but also because it gave me the chance to get to know people, some of whom I thought I already knew. Working on this blog, and taking photos for this blog was really something I did for fun and for myself. But it has been so encouraging to see the response, to know that people are actually interested in what we’ve done, and more importantly interested in each other and getting to know each other, in this case through style and fashion.

So I just wanted to thank all the friends that supported us, both models and readers. But especially the models! Thank you for letting us get to know you by rummaging through your closet, invading your personal space, ordering you around in front of a camera, and making you suffer through a variety of weather conditions. And thank you for your time, patience, and willingness – you guys literally made this thing!

Love,
Dani

One comment

Leave a Reply

